Annual awards reception honours some of the province’s best

Leave a comment

CKBC-awards-news-header.pngCanoe Kayak BC honoured the province’s top athletes, coaches and volunteers at its annual awards banquet this past Friday in Burnaby. Over 85 individuals who achieved paddling excellence this past season received medals, plaques, scholarships and recognition for their hard work.

Maple Ridge’s Laura Said was honoured as Canoe Kayak BC’s Volunteer of the Year. Said was cited for her dedication to officiating and mentorship to new officials. Included in her many accomplishments was the respect both athletes and coaches have for her on the water.

Canoe Kayak BC also awarded two deserving members with $500 scholarships. Rhys Taylor (Chilliwack) and Matthew Abbott (Burnaby) are both long time members who have contributed significantly to canoe and kayak in B.C.

Taylor is a long-time athlete and volunteer in whitewater programs in B.C. This past summer, under his strong leadership, there was a significant increase in the number of school and summer program registrations in the Chilliwack Club. Taylor is currently enrolled in his first year at the University of the Fraser Valley in a Bachelor of Science Program

A former sprint paddler, Abbott is now the Vice Commodore at the Burnaby Canoe and Kayak Club and is completing a 20-month program at the Justice Institute to become an Advanced Care Paramedic. He began paddling in 1999 and was a Team BC member at the 2001 Canada Summer Games. He continues to assist at provincial training camps and events and is a Level 3 official who will complete his Level 4 evaluation next year.

Former Team Canada members Corey Hamilton and Cory Rublee were honoured by Canoe Kayak Canada CEO Casey Wade. Both athletes made significant contributions to the national program. Current Team Canada members Brian Malfesi (Ridge) and Matthew Koehler (Ridge) were honoured by National Team Coach Mark Granger.

Other award recipients were:

Performance Awards

  • U15 Female Kayak Athlete of the Year – Sprint: Cassidy MacPherson (Ridge)
  • U15 Female Canoe Athlete of the Year – Sprint: Samantha Loutet (Burnaby)
  • U15 Male Kayak Athlete of the Year – Sprint: Stanley Netherton (Kamloops
  • U15 Male Canoe Athlete of the Year – Sprint: Quinn Phare (Pemberton)
  • U17 Female Athlete of the Year – Sprint: Anna Zhang (False Creek)
  • U19 Male Athlete of the Year – Sprint: Matthew Koehler (Ridge)
  • Junior Male Athlete of the Year – Sprint: Brian Malfesi (Ridge)
  • Master Female Athlete of the Year – Sprint: Verna McNichol (Ridge)
  • Master Male Athlete of the Year – Sprint: Jason Rusu (Nelson)
  • Para Athlete of the Year – Sprint: Stuart Chase (Pitt Meadows)
  • Whitewater Athlete of the Year: Jakob Kryworuchko (Chilliwack)

Sprint Development Awards

Female Canoe

  • Novice: Elisa Robson-Brown (False Creek), Jia Kim (Ridge), Elissa Elmadani (False Creek), Maddy Beaudry (Pemberton)
  • U15: Emily Robinson (Kamloops), Georgia Langdon (Burnaby), Mika Asano (Burnaby)
  • U14: Georgia Langdon (Burnaby), Cassidy MacPherson (Ridge), Mika Asano (Burnaby), Alena Stenning-Lint (Nanaimo)
  • U13: Keisa Bleiler (False Creek), Asha Senanayake (False Creek), Gillian Helliwell (False Creek)
  • U12: Keisa Bleiler (False Creek), Asha Senanayake (False Creek), Gillian Helliwell (False Creek)
  • U11: Anna Beaudry (Pemberton), Mischa Grover (Kamloops), Moya Alobi (Nanaimo)

Male Canoe

  • Novice: Quinn Phare (Pemberton), Oliver Esseltine (Pemberton), Arjun Senanayake (False Creek)
  • U15: Quinn Phare (Pemberton), Arjun Senanayake (False Creek), Noah Said (Ridge)
  • U14: Noah Said (Ridge), Quinn Thomson (Burnaby), Landon McQuarrie (Fort Langley)
  • U13: Quinn Thomson (Burnaby), Brendan Shippit (Pemberton), Vladimir Demishkevich (Kamloops)
  • U12: Vladimir Demishkevich (Kamloops), Landon McQuarrie (Fort Langley), Jonas Decker (Kamloops)
  • U11: Brayden Bastarache (Nanaimo), Hayden Heath (False Creek), Jacob Heath (False Creek), Noah MacMartin (False Creek), Owen Mitchell (Pitt Meadows), Solomon Ali (Nanaimo), Thorben Schroeder (Nanaimo), Tomoki MacMartin (False Creek)

 Female Kayak

  • Novice: Mika Asano (Burnaby), Elisa Robson-Brown (False Creek), Jia Kim (Ridge)
  • U15: Jia Kim (Ridge), Cassidy MacPherson (Ridge), Katrina Loutet (Burnaby)
  • U14: Cassidy MacPherson (Ridge), Mika Asano (Burnaby), Alena Stenning-Lint (Nanaimo), Lily Small (Ridge)
  • U13: Cassidy MacPherson (Ridge), Keisa Bleiler (False Creek), Shania Modha (Ridge)
  • U12: Keisa Bleiler (False Creek), Gillian Helliwell (False Creek), Asha Senanayake (False Creek)
  • U11: Moya Alobi (Nanaimo), Niamh Gibbons (Nanaimo), Ingrid Rangel Ortega (Burnaby)

Male Kayak

  • Novice: Jackson Fraser (Nanaimo), Thomas Duff (Nanaimo), Jacob Horwood (Nanaimo)
  • U15: Ivan Strashenko (Burnaby), Thomas Duff (Nanaimo), Alexander Dmitriev (Ridge), Jackson Ali (Nanaimo), Hunter Nyvall (Chinook), Matao Buist (Kamloops)
  • U14: Jackson Ali (Nanaimo), Thomas Duff (Nanaimo), Jackson Fraser (Nanaimo)
  • U13: Jackson Ali (Nanimo), Aksel Schroeder (Nanaimo), Vladimir Demishkevich (Kamloops)
  • U12: Aksel Schroeder (Nanaimo), Vladimir Demishkevich (Kamloops), Bryant Kelleway (Ridge)
  • U11: Solomon Ali (Nanaimo), Thorben Schroeder (Nanaimo), Lucas Fong (Burnaby)

Sprint Coaching Awards

  • Development Coach of the Year: Wes Hammer (Burnaby)
  • Performance Coach of the Year: Peter Majewski (Ridge)

Officials Recognition – Sprint 

Mary Jane Abbott, Francis Cheung. Kelley Fripps-Cheung, Mark Loutet, Gina Loutet, Shana MacPherson, Sanjita Modha, Dave Nosella, Vicki Nosella, Rachael Pollard, Laura Said

Official and Volunteer Recognition – Whitewater

Shonnet Allen, Lawrence Allen, Jon Allen, James Cartwright, Rob Fletcher, Sarah Gillies, Kim Patterson, David Patterson, Darcy Wilkins, Nicole Wilkins

 Hosting Recognition

  • Two Rivers: BC Marathon Championships
  • Squamish: National Surfski Championships
  • CCE: Canadian Whitewater Trials & BC Summer Games
  • Fort Langley: BC Summer Games
  • Burnaby: BC Cup #1 & Provincial Team qualifier
  • Kamloops: BC Cup #2, BC Championships, National Championships qualifier
  • Nanaimo: BC Cup #3
  • Ridge: BC Championships & Pacific Cup

Based in Burnaby, Canoe Kayak BC actively encourages and provides opportunities to enjoy, participate and excel in paddle sports in British Columbia. Members include competitive and developing athletes, enthusiasts, coaches, officials, administrators and supporters of paddling sports. For more information about Canoe Kayak BC and its programs, please visit Canoe Kayak BC online at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s